Interview with Jamie Beckett


An interview with Jamie Beckett, a PhD researcher on the Records of Early English Drama North-East project.

Medieval and Early Modern Student Association

Ahead of this week’s MEMSA seminar, we caught up with speaker Jamie Beckett and asked him some questions. Don’t forget to come by on Tuesday at 6.15 to hear his paper!

Where are you from?
 
I’m originally from a small town near Leamington Spa in Warwickshire, though I’ve lived for the past four years in York, studying for my BA and MA there. I did also work at Warwick Castle whilst growing up, but serving chips from a hatch rather than doing anything historical, which does negate my medievalist street-cred somewhat.
 
How did you come to Durham?
 
My supervisor at York knew I was interested in late medieval theatre, and had heard about an opportunity to join the REED-NE team at Durham, looking into records of early English drama in the North East.  I applied, and – luckily – here I am.
 
What’s your favourite thing…

View original post 403 more words

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

